Chapters 19-20: Sorry – I am What’s Wrong

In these chapters, the model of humility, honesty, and honor are shown in the context of actual stories from Salem, Massachusetts with interaction between two cultures typically at odds: The Christians and the Witches. Both individual and group action of apology are shown in these anecdotes, with the power they had to change opinions people have about us. How does such activity open up dialogue with people radically unlike ourselves? How can you apply this principle of apology to your interactions with those who are your radical Other?

3 thoughts on “Chapters 19-20: Sorry – I am What’s Wrong

  1. The period between Rosh Hashanna and Yom Kippur are referred to as the Days of Awe. During this time we are to prepare ourselves to stand in judgement before G-d, but before we can seek forgiveness from G-d, we must seek forgiveness from each other. We are commanded to seek forgiveness (i.e. apologize) to everyone we may have hurt through word, action, or inaction whether intentional or unintentional. More importantly, we are commanded to forgive anyone who seeks our forgiveness. The ancient rabbis understood the danger of carry a grudge.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s